ShulStation review (2026)
Kiosk-centred shul platform for donations, pledges, aliyah payments, zmanim and member profiles, built by the team at Banquest Payment Systems and sold at $29.99/month plus hardware and card processing.
Quick facts
- Published price
- ShulStation $29.99/mo
- Est. annual, 150 hh (billing tier)
- $359.88
- Est. annual, 400 hh (billing tier)
- $359.88
- Setup / onboarding
- Not stated.
- Payment processing
- Card processing fees excluded from the subscription; processor and rates not named on the site. The Banquest connection suggests a Banquest/Payroc merchant account, which is unverified.
- Target size
- Not stated.
- Region
- US, New Jersey/New York area.
- Company
- Not stated. Phone 732-323-8300 (central New Jersey area code). Banquest Payment Systems' footer reads 'Payroc BQ LLC, dba Banquest Payment Systems'; its BBB link points to Lakewood, NJ. · since Not stated. Favicon uploaded Oct 2023; first Wayback capture of shulstation.com 2024-03-26.
Not ranked
We could verify fewer than 55% of the feature fields from public pages, so a score would be a guess. The profile below shows exactly what is and is not documented.
Documented strengths
- Cheapest published subscription in the category ($29.99/mo, unlimited members)
- Kiosk-first design with zmanim, aliyah/pledge payment and emergency buttons for Orthodox shuls
- Built by an established payment processor
Documented limitations
- Not a full management system: yahrzeits, dues cycles, accounting, QuickBooks, school, email/SMS, export are all unmentioned
- Hardware and processing costs unpublished
- Yom Tov seating still 'launching soon'
- Near-zero search footprint; one anecdotal review
ShulStation pricing
| Plan | Monthly | Annualized | Limit | Includes | Excludes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ShulStation | $29.99 | $359.88 | Unlimited members | Recurring payments, saved payment information, debit and credit options, phone and email support, administrative tools, encrypted security, emergency assistance, instant donations, multiple account support | 'Excludes CC Processing Fees'; 'Hardware Options Sold Separately' |
Pricing model: Flat monthly subscription + hardware sold separately + card processing fees. Terms: Not stated.. Kiosk hardware price not published; homepage says the kiosk is 'bundled with all the essentials' while the pricing page says hardware is sold separately. Source: https://site.shulstation.com/pricing/, checked 2026-10-12 (vendor-page). Prices exclude payment-processing fees unless stated.
Feature coverage, with evidence
"Yes" means we found the capability described on a vendor page (linked). "Partial" means limited, add-on or third-party. "Not verified" means we could not find it documented; it may exist. Ask the vendor.
| Capability | Status | Notes and evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Membership & household records | Partial | Drag-and-drop member profiles (view/edit, seats, balances); households not mentioned. source |
| Yahrzeit tracking & reminders | Not verified | Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. |
| Hebrew calendar integration | Yes | 'Automatic zmanim calculations, tailored to your location'; integrated shul calendar. source |
| Dues, billing & receivables | Partial | Outstanding balances managed; members pay for aliyos and pledges; dues billing cycles not described. source |
| Online payments | Yes | Saved encrypted payment methods, QR-code payments, recurring payments, debit/credit. source |
| Donations, pledges & campaigns | Yes | Donations, pledges, 'customized campaign pages for shul events and fundraisers'. source |
| General ledger / fund accounting | Not verified | Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. |
| QuickBooks integration | Not verified | Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. |
| Religious school management | Not verified | Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. |
| Events & registration | Partial | Integrated shul calendar and schedules on kiosks; registration not described. source |
| High Holiday seating | Partial | 'Assign shul seats'; 'Automatically streamline Yom Tov seat selections. Launching soon.' source |
| Honors, aliyot & gabbai tools | Partial | 'Manage outstanding balances with Aliyah statuses'; pay for aliyos via kiosk/QR. Honor assignment workflow not described. source |
| Cemetery management | Not verified | Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. |
| Website / CMS | Partial | Per-shul public zmanim/schedule page at shulstation.com/<slug>; not a CMS. source |
| Email & newsletters | Not verified | Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. |
| SMS / texting | Not verified | Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. |
| Member self-service portal | Not verified | Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. |
| Mobile app | Not verified | Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. |
| API / data export | Not verified | Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12. |
| Automation & workflows | Partial | Automatic zmanim; automated Yom Tov seat selection 'launching soon'. source |
Migration
Assistance: Not stated; YouTube tutorial 'Manually adding a member in ShulStation' exists.
Fees: Not stated.
source
Support & security
Channels: phone 732-323-8300, email support@shulstation.com, contact form. Hours: Not stated.. Training: YouTube tutorials (customizing the kiosk, adding members).. source
Security: 'Encrypted security' and stored encrypted payment methods claimed; no PCI/SOC statements found. Kiosk offers one-click Hatzolah/police emergency buttons usable on Shabbos and Yom Tov. source
What independent sources say
Individual experiences, not survey data. Review platforms are sparse in this niche; treat counts under 20 as anecdotes.
- DansDeals forum thread 'shulcloud and other shul management systems' from 1 reviews. One poster: 'I use ShulStation. Don't have anything to compare it to, but I've been very happy with it.' (search snippet; thread returns 403 to fetch). source
Questions to ask ShulStation before you sign
- Kiosk hardware price and lease options
- Processor and card rates (Banquest?)
- Whether the product is legally a Banquest/Payroc offering
- Yahrzeit tracking and data export
- Whether it should be reclassified as 'platform' once seating and member tooling mature
Alternatives to ShulStation
| Product | Published price | Score | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Easyshul | Standard (congregations with more than 150 families) $349/mo | 80.5/100 | |
| ShulCloud | Standard ('ShulCloud without Financials') $161.99/mo; Premium ('ShulCloud with Financials') $313.99/mo; Enterprise ('The Complete ShulCloud') $464.99/mo; Small-shul Premium rate (signup checkbox) $97.99/mo | 78.5/100 | |
| Rakefet Online | RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - NEW USERS (year 1) $149/mo; RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - EXISTING USERS $90/mo | 78.0/100 | |
| MyShul | Standard $179/mo; Premium $310/mo; Enterprise ('most popular') $460/mo | 75.0/100 |
Sources
- https://shulstation.com/
- https://site.shulstation.com/
- https://site.shulstation.com/about/
- https://site.shulstation.com/pricing/
- https://site.shulstation.com/features/
- https://site.shulstation.com/signup/
- https://www.banquest.com/
- https://www.youtube.com/@shulstation
- https://forums.dansdeals.com/index.php?topic=126908.60
Spotted an error? Vendors and users can request a correction; we re-verify and note the change.