Independent. We sell no synagogue software, take no vendor payment for placement, and run no affiliate links. Prices are checked against vendor pages on the date shown on each page. Editorial policy

Payment processing fees for synagogues

On a mid-size congregation's dues and donations, processing fees are usually larger than the gap between two software subscriptions. Few vendors put them on the pricing page.

Updated 2026-10-12 · Synagogue Software Reviews editorial team

Two fees, not one

A processor fee is what the card network and processor (Stripe, PayPal, a bank) charge per transaction, typically a percentage plus a fixed amount. A platform fee is what the software vendor adds on top, either as a percentage or buried in a "digital payments fee." Some platforms charge only the processor's rate; some add their own; some do not say. Ask for both numbers in writing.

Published rates we verified

ProductWhat its page states (verified 2026-10-12)
Temple ToolsStripe Connect, 2.9% + 30¢ per transaction
Little Green Light2.2% + 30¢ to Stripe or PayPal; nothing to LGL
Planning Center2.15% + 30¢ cards; 0% + 30¢ ACH
DonorboxPlatform fee 2.95% on the free plan (lower on paid plans) plus Stripe nonprofit 2.2% + 30¢; ACH 0.8% capped at $5
Givebutter0% platform fee when donor tips are on; 3% platform fee plus 2.9% + 30¢ cards / 1.9% + 30¢ ACH with tips off
Chabad SuiteCampaign platform rate 1.49% / 1.19% / 0.99% by plan; processor fees not stated
ShulCloud, ShulHub, Easyshul, ShalomCloud, RakefetProcessor and rates not published on the pages we read

Vendors that do not publish rates are not necessarily more expensive. They are, however, making you ask.

Why ACH matters for dues

Dues are large, recurring and paid by people who trust the institution, which is exactly the profile where bank-debit (ACH or eCheck) works. At a flat 30 cents or a capped percentage, ACH on a $2,400 annual dues payment costs under a dollar; the same payment on a card at 2.9% plus 30 cents costs about $70. A platform that makes ACH the default in the member portal, and lets you pass card fees to the payer as an option, can save a 300-household congregation several thousand dollars a year.

A worked example

A congregation collecting $400,000 a year online, 60% by card and 40% by ACH:

ScenarioAnnual processing
Cards at 2.9% + 30¢, ACH at 0.8% capped $5about $8,100
Cards at 2.2% + 30¢ (nonprofit rate), same ACHabout $6,400
Shift to 20% cards / 80% ACH at the nonprofit rateabout $3,000

The differences are of the same order as the entire annual subscription of most platforms on the pricing page.

Questions to ask

  1. Who is the processor, and may we use our own merchant account?
  2. Card and ACH rates, any monthly or per-batch fees, and any platform percentage on top.
  3. Whether a nonprofit rate is available and who applies for it.
  4. Whether payers can be offered the option to cover the fee, and how that is recorded for tax letters.
  5. How refunds and chargebacks are charged and recorded.

Frequently asked questions

Does ShulCloud charge a percentage on payments?

The plans page does not state processing rates; the terms refer to third-party processing fees without amounts. Ask for the rate card in writing.

Can a synagogue avoid processing fees entirely?

Not for online payments. Fees can be minimized by steering dues to ACH, obtaining a nonprofit card rate, and offering payers the option to cover the fee. Checks and cash remain fee-free but cost staff time.