Independent. We sell no synagogue software, take no vendor payment for placement, and run no affiliate links. Prices are checked against vendor pages on the date shown on each page. Editorial policy

Mitzvah Tools review (2026)

Cloud B'nai Mitzvah preparation platform for clergy, tutors, students and parents (milestones, scheduling, messaging, Torah-portion resources), sold by Shulware alongside ShulCloud and priced as an annual license plus a per-student fee.

Complementary tools (fundraising, accounting, websites, services) · Status: actively sold · Verified against shulware.com/mitzvahtools on 2026-10-12 · Low confidence

Quick facts

Published price
Yearly (app.mitzvahtools.com/subscriptions, 2026 footer) $2,999/yr; List price (mt2.mitzvahtools.com/pricing, expired-cert site) $995/yr
Est. annual, 150 hh (billing tier)
$995
Est. annual, 400 hh (billing tier)
$995
Setup / onboarding
$1,000 (app subscriptions page) or $500 (mt2 pricing page).
Payment processing
n/a (no payments module described).
Target size
'Synagogue clients large and small'.
Region
North America.
Company
Shulware, Two Ravinia Drive, Suite 500, Atlanta, GA 30346 (Togetherwork's Atlanta office). · since Original Mitzvah Tools created by Rabbi Dan Moskovitz; cloud version c. 2016 (Detroit Jewish News 2016-07-28; Jewish Independent coverage). Acquisition date by Shulware/Togetherwork not stated.

Not ranked

We could verify fewer than 55% of the feature fields from public pages, so a score would be a guess. The profile below shows exactly what is and is not documented.

Documented strengths

  • Only B'nai Mitzvah-specific platform with a native ShulCloud integration
  • Published per-student pricing (on the app site)
  • Backed by Shulware/Togetherwork support organization

Documented limitations

  • Niche: no membership, billing, donations or accounting
  • Conflicting published prices and stale secondary site (expired certificate, 2022 app)
  • No independent reviews

Mitzvah Tools pricing

PlanMonthlyAnnualizedLimitIncludesExcludes
Yearly (app.mitzvahtools.com/subscriptions, 2026 footer)—$2,999—$2,999/yearly + $25/student + $1,000 set-up fee
List price (mt2.mitzvahtools.com/pricing, expired-cert site)—$995—$995 annual license + $25 per student + $500 setup fee; 'Total Charge $1495' first year

Pricing model: Annual license + per-student fee + one-time setup fee; two vendor pages disagree. Terms: Annual.. shulware.com/mitzvahtools publishes no price (demo request only). The two self-published figures conflict ($2,999 vs $995 license); the app page is the live product surface and is treated as current, the mt2 page as historical. Source: https://app.mitzvahtools.com/subscriptions/, checked 2026-10-12 (vendor-page). Prices exclude payment-processing fees unless stated.

Feature coverage, with evidence

"Yes" means we found the capability described on a vendor page (linked). "Partial" means limited, add-on or third-party. "Not verified" means we could not find it documented; it may exist. Ask the vendor.

CapabilityStatusNotes and evidence
Membership & household recordsPartialStudent, parent, tutor and clergy records only; not a congregation membership database. source
Yahrzeit tracking & remindersNot verifiedNot mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12.
Hebrew calendar integrationPartialTorah portions / 'one-click creation of Matbeah set-lists'; scheduling with calendar sync. General Hebrew calendar not described. source
Dues, billing & receivablesNot verifiedNot mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12.
Online paymentsNot verifiedNot mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12.
Donations, pledges & campaignsNot verifiedNot mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12.
General ledger / fund accountingNot verifiedNot mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12.
QuickBooks integrationNot verifiedNot mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12.
Religious school managementNot verifiedNot mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12.
Events & registrationPartialSession scheduling and calendar sync for lessons; no event registration. source
High Holiday seatingNot verifiedNot mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12.
Honors, aliyot & gabbai toolsPartialClergy 'honor assignments' for the ceremony and set-lists; not a general gabbai tool. source
Cemetery managementNot verifiedNot mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12.
Website / CMSNot verifiedNot mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12.
Email & newslettersPartialCentralized messaging and chat between tutors, students and families; no marketing email. source
SMS / textingNot verifiedNot mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12.
Member self-service portalPartialStudent and parent logins with milestone checks and resource hub. source
Mobile appYesFree iOS 'MitzvahTools' companion app, v1.1, last updated 2022-12-07, 5.0 from 2 ratings. source
API / data exportPartialIntegrates with ShulCloud via the ShulCloud API; no public API or export described. source
Automation & workflowsPartialMilestone tracking, task assignment, remote learning readiness. source

Migration

Assistance: Not stated.
Fees: Setup fee $500-$1,000 (see pricing).
source

Support & security

Channels: phone (800) 242-8371, demo form shulware.com/mitzvah-tools-demo, Shulware training/learning services, Togetherwork Zendesk (login). Hours: Not stated.. Training: Shulware Training Services and ShulwareLearning academy page for Mitzvah Tools.. source
Security: Describes COPPA compliance and secure authenticated logins; a 'Student/Children Privacy Notice' is published. No SOC/PCI statements. source

What independent sources say

Individual experiences, not survey data. Review platforms are sparse in this niche; treat counts under 20 as anecdotes.

Questions to ask Mitzvah Tools before you sign

  1. Which price list is current ($2,999 vs $995 license)
  2. Whether the product is still actively developed (app last updated 2022)
  3. Acquisition date by Shulware/Togetherwork

Alternatives to Mitzvah Tools

ProductPublished priceScore
EasyshulStandard (congregations with more than 150 families) $349/mo80.5/100
ShulCloudStandard ('ShulCloud without Financials') $161.99/mo; Premium ('ShulCloud with Financials') $313.99/mo; Enterprise ('The Complete ShulCloud') $464.99/mo; Small-shul Premium rate (signup checkbox) $97.99/mo78.5/100
Rakefet OnlineRakefetOnline-CRM Annual - NEW USERS (year 1) $149/mo; RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - EXISTING USERS $90/mo78.0/100
MyShulStandard $179/mo; Premium $310/mo; Enterprise ('most popular') $460/mo75.0/100

Sources

Spotted an error? Vendors and users can request a correction; we re-verify and note the change.