Kesef Accounting review (2026)
An outsourced synagogue bookkeeping service in the Shulware/ShulCloud family, offering ShulCloud-only receivables or full-service accounting.
Quick facts
- Published price
- Quote only
- Setup / onboarding
- Not stated
- Payment processing
- N/A
- Target size
- Tailored to organization size
- Region
- US
- Company
- Kesef: P.O. Box 678, Montvale, NJ 07645; Shulware general: Two Ravinia Drive, Suite 500, Atlanta, GA 30346 · since Kesef providing synagogue bookkeeping since 2009 (Shulware history, via search snippet); third-party says est. 2008
Not ranked
We could verify fewer than 55% of the feature fields from public pages, so a score would be a guess. The profile below shows exactly what is and is not documented.
Documented strengths
- Only US firm specializing in synagogue bookkeeping; ShulCloud-native
Documented limitations
- No pricing; tied to ShulCloud ecosystem
Kesef Accounting pricing
| Plan | Monthly | Annualized | Limit | Includes | Excludes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Partial service ('Shulcloud Only') | — | — | — | Outsourced A/R within ShulCloud, contribution tracking, member statements, financial reports | |
| Full-service bookkeeping | — | — | — | A/R, A/P, payroll, bank reconciliations, member statements, financial reports | |
| Professional services / add-ons | — | — | — | GL conversion to QuickBooks, budgeting, audit/review support, payroll and pension processing |
Pricing model: quote. Terms: Not stated. No dollar amounts; one testimonial cites a 30% drop in all-in cost per household. Memo 'outsourced bookkeeping, pricing model' — model is quote-based (confirmed as service, no figures). Source: https://shulware.com/kesef-accounting, checked 2026-10-12 (vendor-page). Prices exclude payment-processing fees unless stated.
Feature coverage, with evidence
"Yes" means we found the capability described on a vendor page (linked). "Partial" means limited, add-on or third-party. "Not verified" means we could not find it documented; it may exist. Ask the vendor.
| Capability | Status | Notes and evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Membership & household records | Partial | Works inside the client's ShulCloud database source |
| Yahrzeit tracking & reminders | No | Service, not software source |
| Hebrew calendar integration | Not verified | Not stated on the pages fetched. source |
| Dues, billing & receivables | Yes | A/R and member statements within ShulCloud source |
| Online payments | Partial | Helps use ShulCloud payment portals source |
| Donations, pledges & campaigns | Partial | Contribution tracking source |
| General ledger / fund accounting | Yes | GL management, restricted fund accounting (service, in QuickBooks) source |
| QuickBooks integration | Yes | QuickBooks conversions and bookkeeping source |
| Religious school management | Not verified | Not stated on the pages fetched. source |
| Events & registration | Not verified | Not stated on the pages fetched. source |
| High Holiday seating | Not verified | Not stated on the pages fetched. source |
| Honors, aliyot & gabbai tools | Not verified | Not stated on the pages fetched. source |
| Cemetery management | Not verified | Not stated on the pages fetched. source |
| Website / CMS | No | source |
| Email & newsletters | Not verified | Not stated on the pages fetched. source |
| SMS / texting | Not verified | Not stated on the pages fetched. source |
| Member self-service portal | Not verified | Not stated on the pages fetched. source |
| Mobile app | Not verified | Not stated on the pages fetched. source |
| API / data export | Not verified | Not stated on the pages fetched. source |
| Automation & workflows | Not verified | Not stated on the pages fetched. source |
Migration
Documented import sources: QuickBooks, ShulCloud.
Assistance: GL conversion to QuickBooks offered
source
Support & security
Channels: phone (800) 242-8371, demo booking. Hours: 'regular business hours'. Training: Shulware offers 'Unlimited training'. source
Security: Not stated
What independent sources say
Individual experiences, not survey data. Review platforms are sparse in this niche; treat counts under 20 as anecdotes.
- Glassdoor. Employer profile notes 'Acquired by Togetherwork' (snippet) source
Questions to ask Kesef Accounting before you sign
- Typical monthly fee range?
Alternatives to Kesef Accounting
| Product | Published price | Score | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Easyshul | Standard (congregations with more than 150 families) $349/mo | 80.5/100 | |
| ShulCloud | Standard ('ShulCloud without Financials') $161.99/mo; Premium ('ShulCloud with Financials') $313.99/mo; Enterprise ('The Complete ShulCloud') $464.99/mo; Small-shul Premium rate (signup checkbox) $97.99/mo | 78.5/100 | |
| Rakefet Online | RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - NEW USERS (year 1) $149/mo; RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - EXISTING USERS $90/mo | 78.0/100 | |
| MyShul | Standard $179/mo; Premium $310/mo; Enterprise ('most popular') $460/mo | 75.0/100 |
Sources
- https://shulware.com/kesef-accounting
- https://shulware.com/
- https://www.togetherwork.com/brands/
- https://www.jta.org/?p=1699215
Spotted an error? Vendors and users can request a correction; we re-verify and note the change.