Independent. We sell no synagogue software, take no vendor payment for placement, and run no affiliate links. Prices are checked against vendor pages on the date shown on each page. Editorial policy

Givebutter review (2026)

A free fundraising platform (forms, campaigns, events, CRM) funded by optional donor tips, with a paid Plus tier.

Complementary tools (fundraising, accounting, websites, services) · Status: actively sold · Verified against givebutter.com/pricing on 2026-10-12 · Low confidence

Quick facts

Published price
Givebutter Plus $29/mo
Est. annual, 150 hh (billing tier)
$348
Setup / onboarding
None
Payment processing
Tips on: nonprofits pay no processing fees (donors asked to cover). Tips off: flat 3% platform fee plus standard processing 2.9% + 30c cards, 1.9% + 30c ACH
Target size
Small to mid nonprofits
Region
US
Company
Not stated on pricing page · since Not stated

Not ranked

We could verify fewer than 55% of the feature fields from public pages, so a score would be a guess. The profile below shows exactly what is and is not documented.

Documented strengths

  • $0 platform fee with tips; free CRM

Documented limitations

  • 3% fee if tips disabled; Plus tier pricing display unclear

Givebutter pricing

PlanMonthlyAnnualizedLimitIncludesExcludes
Free——Unlimited contactsForms, campaigns, events, CRM, email; 0% platform fee when donor tips enabled
Givebutter Plus$29$348250 or fewer contacts (starting tier)Automated workflows, task management, reports, texting, video messages, QuickBooks Online, priority phone support; also $79/mo ($948/yr) and $129/mo ($1,548/yr) for larger contact tiers; mapping of price to tier not explicit; 50,000+ 'Talk to sales'; overage billed per 100 contacts

Pricing model: free + percentage-fee. Terms: Plus: 30-day trial; cancel effective end of billing period. Memo 'free platform w/ tips' CONFIRMED; the 3% fee when tips are disabled is the key caveat. Page shows an unexplained mismatch between annual totals and per-month annual figures ($33.80/$92.90/$150.50). Source: https://givebutter.com/pricing, checked 2026-10-12 (vendor-page). Prices exclude payment-processing fees unless stated.

Feature coverage, with evidence

"Yes" means we found the capability described on a vendor page (linked). "Partial" means limited, add-on or third-party. "Not verified" means we could not find it documented; it may exist. Ask the vendor.

CapabilityStatusNotes and evidence
Membership & household recordsPartialContact CRM with households? not stated source
Yahrzeit tracking & remindersNoNo Jewish-calendar capability found source
Hebrew calendar integrationNo source
Dues, billing & receivablesNot verifiedNot stated on the pages fetched. source
Online paymentsYesCards, ACH, wallets source
Donations, pledges & campaignsYesForms, campaigns, events, recurring source
General ledger / fund accountingNot verifiedNot stated on the pages fetched. source
QuickBooks integrationPartialQuickBooks Online on Plus source
Religious school managementNot verifiedNot stated on the pages fetched. source
Events & registrationYesEvents and ticketing source
High Holiday seatingNot verifiedNot stated on the pages fetched. source
Honors, aliyot & gabbai toolsNot verifiedNot stated on the pages fetched. source
Cemetery managementNot verifiedNot stated on the pages fetched. source
Website / CMSNot verifiedNot stated on the pages fetched. source
Email & newslettersYesEmail included; fundraising blocks on Plus source
SMS / textingPartialTexting on Plus source
Member self-service portalNot verifiedNot stated on the pages fetched. source
Mobile appNot verifiedNot stated on the pages fetched. source
API / data exportNot verified source
Automation & workflowsPartialAutomated workflows on Plus source

Migration

No migration documentation found on public pages. source

Support & security

Channels: chat/email (free for all), priority phone 7 days (Plus). Hours: Plus: seven days a week. source
Security: Not stated on pricing page

What independent sources say

Individual experiences, not survey data. Review platforms are sparse in this niche; treat counts under 20 as anecdotes.

Questions to ask Givebutter before you sign

  1. Which Plus price applies to which contact tier?

Alternatives to Givebutter

ProductPublished priceScore
EasyshulStandard (congregations with more than 150 families) $349/mo80.5/100
ShulCloudStandard ('ShulCloud without Financials') $161.99/mo; Premium ('ShulCloud with Financials') $313.99/mo; Enterprise ('The Complete ShulCloud') $464.99/mo; Small-shul Premium rate (signup checkbox) $97.99/mo78.5/100
Rakefet OnlineRakefetOnline-CRM Annual - NEW USERS (year 1) $149/mo; RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - EXISTING USERS $90/mo78.0/100
MyShulStandard $179/mo; Premium $310/mo; Enterprise ('most popular') $460/mo75.0/100

Sources

Spotted an error? Vendors and users can request a correction; we re-verify and note the change.