Independent. We sell no synagogue software, take no vendor payment for placement, and run no affiliate links. Prices are checked against vendor pages on the date shown on each page. Editorial policy

ShalomCloud vs ShulCloud (2026)

Two synagogue management options compared on verified pricing, Jewish-specific workflows, billing depth, communications, migration and independent evidence.

Data verified 2026-10-12 (ShalomCloud) and 2026-10-12 (ShulCloud). Scores from the published rubric.

Quick answer

  • Price: ShalomCloud: Small — Standard Support (homepage) $36/mo; Small — Premium Support (homepage) / Small Plan (/pricing) $72/mo; Medium — Standard Support (homepage) $54/mo; Medium — Premium Support (homepage) / Medium Plan (/pricing) $108/mo; Large — Standard Support (homepage) $72/mo; Large — Premium Support (homepage) / Large Plan (/pricing) $144/mo. ShulCloud: Standard ('ShulCloud without Financials') $161.99/mo; Premium ('ShulCloud with Financials') $313.99/mo; Enterprise ('The Complete ShulCloud') $464.99/mo; Small-shul Premium rate (signup checkbox) $97.99/mo. For a 150-household congregation that is roughly $648 vs $3,579.49 per year before processing and setup fees.
  • Jewish-specific workflows: ShulCloud leads (14.0 vs 16.0 of 20 points).
  • Membership, dues and money: ShulCloud leads (10.0 vs 12.0 of 20 points).
  • Communications and engagement: ShulCloud leads (3.0 vs 12.5 of 15 points).
  • School and events: ShalomCloud leads (10.0 vs 7.5 of 10 points).
  • Data portability and migration: ShulCloud leads (5.0 vs 7.5 of 10 points).
  • Independent customer evidence: ShulCloud leads (2 vs 8 of 10 points).
  • Overall: ShalomCloud 59.0/100 · ShulCloud 78.5/100

Pricing side by side

ShalomCloud

  • Small — Standard Support (homepage): $36/mo · Up to 125 member families · Full platform; support by ticket/email only, ~2 business day response.
  • Small — Premium Support (homepage) / Small Plan (/pricing): $72/mo · Up to 125 member families · Full platform; priority triage, phone/email, minutes-to-hours response.
  • Medium — Standard Support (homepage): $54/mo · 126 to 250 member families · Full platform; email/ticket support.
  • Medium — Premium Support (homepage) / Medium Plan (/pricing): $108/mo · 126 to 250 member families · Full platform; priority phone/email support. Labelled 'Most Popular'.
  • Large — Standard Support (homepage): $72/mo · Over 250 member families · Full platform; email/ticket support.
  • Large — Premium Support (homepage) / Large Plan (/pricing): $144/mo · Over 250 member families · Full platform; priority phone/email support.

Setup: Conflicting on the vendor's own site: homepage says 'Conversion fee $200 for all levels'; /pricing says 'One-time conversion fee $400'.. Processing: Not stated anywhere on the site. No payment processor named; Capterra tags 'Payment Processing Software' but the site describes donation 'collection' only.. Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).

ShulCloud

  • Standard ('ShulCloud without Financials'): $161.99/mo · Not stated · Member demographics & lifecycles, responsive customizable website, Jewish calendar with Zmanim, administrator mobile app '& more'. Compare page also marks included: yahrzeit management, cemetery management, event management, resource booking, email system, directory, CRM, data export, donations (PayPal/cards).
  • Premium ('ShulCloud with Financials'): $313.99/mo · Not stated; signup form offers a $97.99/mo Premium rate for shuls with fewer than 100 accounts (email support only; moves to full price above 100 accounts) · Everything in Standard plus billing, payments and statements, Purim Basket and other campaigns '& more'.
  • Enterprise ('The Complete ShulCloud'): $464.99/mo · Not stated · Everything in Premium plus fundraising and school management '& more'.
  • Small-shul Premium rate (signup checkbox): $97.99/mo · fewer than 100 accounts · Premium features; email support only; moves to full Premium price above 100 accounts.

Setup: Not priced on the live site. Terms of Use (shulware.com/website-terms) §4.2 confirms onboarding fees exist and may be paid in installments if ShulCloud agrees. An archived shulcloud.com/faqs (nli.org.il web archive, date not shown; live /faqs now 404) said onboarding solutions ranged from a one-time $150 to $3,600+. Temple Tools' marketing page claims '$5000+' for ShulCloud onboarding — vendor claim, unverified.. Processing: Not stated on the plans page. Features page: online member payments by credit card or ACH eCheck; donations via PayPal or credit cards. Terms §4.2 reference third-party processing fees without amounts.. Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).

Feature by feature

CapabilityShalomCloudShulCloud
Membership & household recordsYes Families, households and members with demographics, attributes, roles; custom attributes per household and member (Capterra description).Yes Membership database, CRM, directory; members manage family members via login.
Yahrzeit tracking & remindersYes Reminders by email or surface mail, bimah lists; tracks Hebrew and Gregorian dates, observer chooses which.Yes Yahrzeit management with reminders to members, gabbaim, rabbi; included in all tiers per /compare.
Hebrew calendar integrationPartial Hebrew-date handling for yahrzeits ('dual-dating'); no congregation calendar or zmanim feature described.Yes Rule-based zmanim 'Smart Schedule System', calendar widget with holidays, parashot, Hebrew/English dates; zmanim by lat/long.
Dues, billing & receivablesPartial Capterra description: track pledges, payments, contributions; monthly statements and annual tax letters. Vendor site itself describes 'Financials' only as recording payments and categories; invoicing not described.Partial Invoicing, batch billing, statements, collections — but marketed as 'Financials' and absent from the Standard tier.
Online paymentsNot verified Event registration allows purchases and donations are 'collected', but no processor, card/ACH support or fees are stated.Partial Credit card and ACH eCheck member payments; online member payments not in Standard. Donations by PayPal/cards in all tiers.
Donations, pledges & campaignsPartial Donation tracking and reporting; pledges per Capterra text; no campaign pages described.Yes Online donations, pledges via gabbai module, Shalach Manot campaign module, fundraising module (Enterprise), site sponsor feature.
General ledger / fund accountingNo Posts to QuickBooks rather than keeping its own GL.No No general ledger; QuickBooks/Sage sync offered as a paid extra.
QuickBooks integrationYes 'Automatically create entries in QuickBooks as funds are received'; tutorial 'Connecting to QuickBooks'.Partial QuickBooks/Sage sync is a paid extra: $500 setup unless bundled with an onboarding purchase.
Religious school managementYes Students by grade, rosters, email/text parents; registration via form builder.Partial School module/enrollment management; school management listed under Enterprise.
Events & registrationYes Member and non-member registration, item purchases, reminders, RSVPs.Yes Event registration with payment, attendance tracking, resource booking (rooms, Torah scrolls, clergy).
High Holiday seatingNot verified Not mentioned (honors are, seating is not).Partial High Holiday seating online and seat management & billing; not shown for Standard on /compare.
Honors, aliyot & gabbai toolsYes High Holiday honors: nominations, accept/decline tracking, reminders. Year-round gabbai scheduling not described.Partial Gabbai management (kibbudim, pledges) and kibbudim reporting; not shown for Standard.
Cemetery managementYes Responsible party, reserved-for and occupant by plot; documents and pictures per plot.Yes Manage one or multiple cemeteries; included in all tiers per /compare.
Website / CMSNo No website builder offered.Yes Template-based 'fully customizable' site with CMS, hosting, HTTPS, SEO, Google Analytics. Basic template in basic packages; advanced design templates in Standard and Premium packages. No page found stating custom-built sites were discontinued (see open_questions).
Email & newslettersPartial Email used for reminders, forms and parent communications; no newsletter/marketing tool described.Yes Newsletters, advanced email system, email statistics, schedule emails; all tiers.
SMS / textingPartial Text parents (religious school); general SMS campaigns not described.Partial Paid add-on at every tier: $35/month for 2,000 messages or $420/year for 24,000.
Member self-service portalNot verified Capterra tags 'Member Portal' but the vendor site does not describe one.Yes Members pay bills, update info, manage family, yahrzeits, billing.
Mobile appNo None described.Partial Administrator app (iOS/Android) included; 'New Mobile Member App' is a paid extra.
API / data exportNot verified Rosters/bimah lists/reports; no export tool or API described. Audit trails exist.Partial 'Export Your Data' at any time; no API listed.
Automation & workflowsPartial Automated reminders and QuickBooks posting; no workflow builder.Partial Rule-based schedule generation, scheduled emails, reminder statements, batch billing; no general workflow builder described.

Evidence links for every cell are on the individual review pages: ShalomCloud, ShulCloud.

Rubric scores

GroupShalomCloudShulCloudMax
Jewish-specific workflows14.016.020
Membership, dues and money10.012.020
Communications and engagement3.012.515
School and events10.07.510
Data portability and migration5.07.510
Pricing transparency151515
Independent customer evidence2810
Total59.078.5100

ShalomCloud: strengths / limitations

  • Lowest published price of the five ($36-$144/mo by size and support level) with a two-month no-card trial.
  • Covers several synagogue-specific records the cheaper competitors skip: cemetery plots, HH honors workflow, dual-dated yahrzeits with bimah lists.
  • Direct QuickBooks posting; audit trails documented.
  • No website builder, no member mobile app, and no clearly described member portal or online dues billing/invoicing.
  • Payment processing, data export and security practices are not described on the site.
  • Vendor's own pages conflict on price and conversion fee ($200 vs $400; two-column vs single-column pricing).
  • No usable third-party reviews (0 on Capterra, 1 unverified on G2); company location and team undisclosed.
  • Standard-support tier is email-only with ~2 business day response.

ShulCloud: strengths / limitations

  • Broadest published feature list of the five: yahrzeits, zmanim-driven scheduling, HH seating, gabbai/kibbudim, cemetery, school, campaigns, website/CMS all on one platform.
  • Transparent monthly and annual list prices on the vendor site.
  • Largest installed base claimed (1,600+ shuls), so peers and consultants familiar with it are easier to find.
  • Data export available at any time per the features page.
  • Standard tier excludes billing, payments and statements — the financial core most synagogues buy the software for.
  • Several items are paid extras on top of the tier price: SMS, member mobile app, QuickBooks/Sage sync, data imports.
  • Onboarding fees exist but are not priced publicly.
  • Annual plans are non-cancelable and non-refundable per the plans page.
  • Third-party reviews are few, dated (2019-2022) and skew negative on support; the 2020 Yom Kippur outage is documented.

Full reviews: ShalomCloud · ShulCloud · all comparisons