Independent. We sell no synagogue software, take no vendor payment for placement, and run no affiliate links. Prices are checked against vendor pages on the date shown on each page. Editorial policy

Congregation Connect vs Rakefet Online (2026)

Two synagogue management options compared on verified pricing, Jewish-specific workflows, billing depth, communications, migration and independent evidence.

Data verified 2026-10-12 (Congregation Connect) and 2026-10-12 (Rakefet Online). Scores from the published rubric.

Quick answer

  • Price: Congregation Connect: Quote only. Rakefet Online: RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - NEW USERS (year 1) $149/mo; RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - EXISTING USERS $90/mo.
  • Jewish-specific workflows: Rakefet Online leads (6.0 vs 14.0 of 20 points).
  • Membership, dues and money: Rakefet Online leads (9.0 vs 16.5 of 20 points).
  • Communications and engagement: Rakefet Online leads (8.0 vs 9.5 of 15 points).
  • School and events: Rakefet Online leads (7.5 vs 10.0 of 10 points).
  • Data portability and migration: Rakefet Online leads (5.5 vs 8.0 of 10 points).
  • Pricing transparency: Rakefet Online leads (5 vs 15 of 15 points).
  • Independent customer evidence: Rakefet Online leads (1 vs 5 of 10 points).
  • Overall: Congregation Connect 42.0/100 · Rakefet Online 78.0/100

Pricing side by side

Congregation Connect

No published price (quote).

Setup: not stated. Processing: not stated. Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).

Rakefet Online

  • RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - NEW USERS (year 1): $149/mo · not stated ('Unlimited seats for members, donors, admins and office') · Basic data migration (import/classify members, family relationships, donors, events, yahrzeits, journal entries, chart of accounts and opening balances); billed annually; 'On Year 2 Upgraded to an Existing User'
  • RakefetOnline-CRM Annual - EXISTING USERS: $90/mo · not stated · Current RakefetOnline user plan; billed annually; 'Existing User Deal Options Available'

Setup: Homepage says sign-up involves a 'one-time setup fee & subscription' but no amount is published; the pricing page lists none. Basic data migration is included in the new-user plan.. Processing: Credit card and ACH processing with recurring payments via Member Portal; integrations named: Stripe, PayPal, PayQuiq, Venmo (two versions of the page list different ones). Processor fees not stated.. Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).

Feature by feature

CapabilityCongregation ConnectRakefet Online
Membership & household recordsYes Constituents, members, donors, groups, households with a '360° view'.Yes Members, children, family relationships, committees, notes, attachments, profile pictures, new member/renewal forms.
Yahrzeit tracking & remindersYes Yahrzeit listed in the 'Connected Synagogue' feature set.Yes Yahrzeits, mourners, memorial plaques, yizkor book reports, printed/emailed notices mixing Jewish and Gregorian dates.
Hebrew calendar integrationNot verified Not mentioned.Yes Automatic Hebrew date conversion, weekly Torah portions and Haftarot, Google Calendar integration.
Dues, billing & receivablesNot verified Billing/statements not described on the vendor page; donations tracked. Kesef can run AR as a service.Yes Member/donor billing, global billing, recurring payments, member ledgers, receivables reports, printed or emailed statements.
Online paymentsNot verified Online forms are an add-on; payment processing not described.Yes Credit card and ACH, recurring payments via Member Portal; Stripe/PayPal/PayQuiq/Venmo named.
Donations, pledges & campaignsYes Donations, fundraising, donor tracking.Partial Donation payment forms and donor giving tracking; 'School and Fundraising' listed on rakefetonline.com. Pledges not explicitly mentioned.
General ledger / fund accountingNo No native GL; QuickBooks integration offered as an add-on (2018 guide: QuickBooks and Sage 50). Kesef provides bookkeeping as a service.Yes Full AR/AP, general ledger with restricted funds, check writing, journal entries, bank reconciliation, budgeting, P&L/balance sheet/trial balance/audit reports.
QuickBooks integrationYes QuickBooks integration listed as an add-on.Not verified Not mentioned on current vendor pages; UJA 2018 guide noted some customers pair Rakefet with QuickBooks or Sage.
Religious school managementPartial Classes and students tracked; no dedicated school/tuition module described.Yes 'School Management' listed; religious school classes tracked in the database.
Events & registrationYes Events listed; Planning Center Online Resources add-on for rooms/resources.Yes Form builder for events and registrations; special event tracking.
High Holiday seatingNot verified Not mentioned.Partial rakefetonline.com lists 'seating' among tracked data and 'High Holy Day planning' is cited; no dedicated seating-chart module described.
Honors, aliyot & gabbai toolsNot verified Not mentioned.Partial 'Aliyot' tracked in the database per rakefetonline.com; no gabbai workflow described.
Cemetery managementNot verified Not mentioned.Not verified Not mentioned on vendor pages checked.
Website / CMSNot verified Not mentioned (no website builder described).No No website builder; donation/payment forms embed in an existing website and API access is offered for external sites.
Email & newslettersYes Marketing automation and email marketing add-on.Yes Email templates, quick messages, scheduled emails, contact lists.
SMS / textingNot verified Not mentioned.Yes SMS templates and quick messages via Twilio integration.
Member self-service portalYes Congregant portals listed as an add-on.Yes Members/donors view commitments, set up recurring payments, download receipts.
Mobile appNot verified Not mentioned (Salesforce mobile availability not claimed on page).No Described as 'mobile friendly'; no dedicated app mentioned.
API / data exportPartial Salesforce platform: 'extendable by Force.com admins'; standard Salesforce APIs/exports implied but not stated.Yes Import/export and API access for external processes or websites.
Automation & workflowsYes Marketing automation; Salesforce workflow customization.Partial Scheduled emails and recurring billing; no general workflow engine described.

Evidence links for every cell are on the individual review pages: Congregation Connect, Rakefet Online.

Rubric scores

GroupCongregation ConnectRakefet OnlineMax
Jewish-specific workflows6.014.020
Membership, dues and money9.016.520
Communications and engagement8.09.515
School and events7.510.010
Data portability and migration5.58.010
Pricing transparency51515
Independent customer evidence1510
Total42.078.0100

Congregation Connect: strengths / limitations

  • Full Salesforce CRM extensibility and reporting
  • Suited to large, staff-rich congregations
  • Backed by Shulware/Togetherwork with Kesef bookkeeping available
  • No published pricing; per-user Salesforce licensing on top of support packages (2018)
  • Requires Salesforce-savvy staff
  • Small installed base (~50 in 2018)
  • Billing, seating, honors, cemetery not evidenced on vendor page

Rakefet Online: strengths / limitations

  • Built-in full double-entry accounting (AR/AP/GL, restricted funds, bank rec) rather than relying on QuickBooks
  • Integrated Jewish calendar with Torah portions and Google Calendar sync
  • API plus import/export; unlimited users
  • Published pricing; basic data migration included for new customers
  • Live US-based phone support with published hours
  • Year-1 price ($149/mo) is substantially above the renewal price ($90/mo); both billed annually
  • No website CMS; no dedicated mobile app
  • Cemetery, QuickBooks integration and dedicated seating module not evidenced on current pages
  • No independent review-site presence found
  • Company location and ownership details not published

Full reviews: Congregation Connect · Rakefet Online · all comparisons