Independent. We sell no synagogue software, take no vendor payment for placement, and run no affiliate links. Prices are checked against vendor pages on the date shown on each page. Editorial policy

Benevolate vs MyShul (2026)

Two synagogue management options compared on verified pricing, Jewish-specific workflows, billing depth, communications, migration and independent evidence.

Data verified 2026-10-12 (Benevolate) and 2026-10-12 (MyShul). Scores from the published rubric.

Quick answer

  • Price: Benevolate: Quote-based: monthly core platform fee + a per-transaction fee on every payment except checks; premium modules priced separately. MyShul: Standard $179/mo; Premium $310/mo; Enterprise ('most popular') $460/mo.
  • Jewish-specific workflows: Benevolate leads (10.0 vs 8.0 of 20 points).
  • Membership, dues and money: MyShul leads (17.0 vs 18.5 of 20 points).
  • School and events: Benevolate leads (10.0 vs 5.0 of 10 points).
  • Data portability and migration: Benevolate leads (10.0 vs 8.0 of 10 points).
  • Pricing transparency: MyShul leads (5 vs 15 of 15 points).
  • Independent customer evidence: MyShul leads (0 vs 10 of 10 points).
  • Overall: Benevolate 63.0/100 · MyShul 75.0/100

Pricing side by side

Benevolate

  • Synagogue Core (custom quote): · Not stated; quote depends on number of households, modules, implementation needs, migration complexity and website requirements · CRM, membership, donations, payments, forms, events, member portal, reporting, API access, yahrzeits, lifecycle, facilities

Setup: Implementation scoped per organization (data migration, configuration, training, payment setup, go-live support); no amounts published.. Processing: Stripe. /pricing states '2.2% + $0.30' for the nonprofit edition and says synagogue rates are 'in the quote'. The sample ledger on /feature/payments shows ~2.9-3.0% on card and $0.00 on ACH, which is illustrative, not a published rate. Who bears the fee is not stated.. Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).

MyShul

  • Standard: $179/mo · Unlimited contacts; 5 custom fields, 2 role permissions, 5 sponsorships, 5 tickets/store items, 2 seating maps, manual transaction entry up to $20k/mo (column mapping inferred from order) · 'All Core Features': CRM, donations, invoices, statements, schedules, zmanim, app, TV, fundraising tools, sponsorships, tickets/store, recurring payments, tax receipts
  • Premium: $310/mo · Unlimited custom fields/permissions/sponsorships/seating maps; manual entry up to $40k/mo (inferred) · Standard + memberships, bulk invoicing, QuickBooks sync, accounting reports, Smart Forms with dynamic pricing, custom website + hosting + domain, payment terminal, bulk email
  • Enterprise ('most popular'): $460/mo · Unlimited; unlimited manual transaction entry · Everything in Premium; eligible for Multi-Bank Payout add-on
  • Add-ons: · Custom Website $44/mo ($36/mo annual); API & SQL Access $120/mo ($98/mo annual); Multi-Bank Payout $191/mo ($230/mo annual as printed; Enterprise only, up to 10 banks)
  • Terms-of-service fee model (free tier): · 'Shuls have no subscription fees'; 1% platform fee on processed funds; 3% on raffle transactions; Stripe fees additional

Setup: Not stated. 'Small Shul Discount' available on request (no figure).. Processing: Stripe ('processed entirely by Stripe'); card/ACH rates not stated. Terms add a 1% platform fee on processed funds and 3% on raffles.. Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).

Feature by feature

CapabilityBenevolateMyShul
Membership & household recordsYes 'Households and history'; relationships tied to people.Yes CRM with unlimited contacts; 'Memberships' on Premium+; households not explicitly described.
Yahrzeit tracking & remindersYes Yahrzeits listed in synagogue Core; /synagogues: 'Yahrzeit, cemetery, and lifecycle' module.Not verified Not mentioned on pages read; a third-party roundup (wifitalents.com) lists 'yahrzeit tracking', unverified.
Hebrew calendar integrationNot verified Not mentioned; Hebrew-date conversion for yahrzeits not described.Yes Schedules and zmanim in Core.
Dues, billing & receivablesYes 'Dues, invoices, payments, open balances'; staff see 'which households still have a balance'.Yes Invoices, statements, recurring payments; bulk invoicing on Premium+; payment reminders.
Online paymentsYes Stripe card and ACH; recurring payments.Yes Stripe; app and web payments; payment terminal on Premium+.
Donations, pledges & campaignsPartial Gifts post to funds, GL and households; annual campaign category shown; pledges not described on pages read.Yes Donations, fundraising tools, sponsorships, raffles (3% fee per Terms).
General ledger / fund accountingPartial Each revenue category maps to a chart-of-accounts line and deposit bank; journal export. Not positioned as a full GL.Partial 'Accounting reports', up to 10 banks / multi-bank payout; not a GL.
QuickBooks integrationYes Journal sync posts journal entries, invoices and deposits to mapped QuickBooks banks incl. Undeposited Funds clearance.Yes 'QuickBooks sync' on Premium and Enterprise.
Religious school managementYes Premium module: enrollment, attendance, billing, family communication; Jacksonville Jewish Center case.Not verified Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12.
Events & registrationYes Tickets, RSVPs, volunteers, QR check-in.Yes Tickets & Store (5 on Standard, unlimited above).
High Holiday seatingPartial 'Registration, seats, and the household that reserved them stay together'; High Holiday seating per se not named.Yes 'Seating Map' (2 on Standard, unlimited above); homepage lists seat maps.
Honors, aliyot & gabbai toolsNot verified Not mentioned.Not verified Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12.
Cemetery managementYes Cemetery is a Premium module; lifecycle module holds 'dates and rituals'.Not verified Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12.
Website / CMSPartial Website hosting is a Premium module; CMS depth not described on pages read.Yes Custom website with hosting, support and templates: included on Premium+ or $44/mo add-on.
Email & newslettersYes Email campaigns and newsletters using household lists.Yes 'Bulk email' on Premium+.
SMS / textingYes Homepage: SMS 'using the same household lists'.Not verified Not mentioned on any vendor page read 2026-10-12.
Member self-service portalYes 'A portal on the same record'.Partial Member-facing app pays invoices, donates, views schedules; a web portal is not described.
Mobile appNot verified No native app mentioned.Yes iOS 'MyShul.com' v3.1 (2025-11-04) and Android 'com.myshul.app'; single app for users and admins.
API / data exportYes 'API access' in synagogue Core; detailed journal CSV export.Yes 'API & SQL Access' add-on $120/mo.
Automation & workflowsPartial 'AI & automation' page and 'Ask Benevolate' query feature linked; details not read.Partial 'Automates repetitive tasks'; Smart Forms with dynamic pricing; payment reminders.

Evidence links for every cell are on the individual review pages: Benevolate, MyShul.

Rubric scores

GroupBenevolateMyShulMax
Jewish-specific workflows10.08.020
Membership, dues and money17.018.520
Communications and engagement11.010.515
School and events10.05.010
Data portability and migration10.08.010
Pricing transparency51515
Independent customer evidence01010
Total63.075.0100

Benevolate: strengths / limitations

  • Genuine accounting mapping (category -> COA -> deposit bank) with QuickBooks journal sync
  • API access included in Core; both email and SMS on household lists
  • Security page is candid about SOC 2 status rather than claiming it
  • Visible in the synagogue-executive market (NAASE 2026 Platinum sponsor)
  • No published synagogue prices; everything is a quote
  • Thin synagogue track record by its own account (four synagogues worked with directly)
  • Hebrew calendar, honors/aliyot and a mobile app are not mentioned
  • SOC 2 report not yet issued; no third-party reviews

MyShul: strengths / limitations

  • Published tier pricing and add-on prices
  • Native member app, kiosk/TV displays, seating maps and raffles aimed at Orthodox shuls
  • QuickBooks sync and API/SQL access available
  • Pricing page and Terms describe two different fee models (subscription vs 1% platform fee)
  • Terms assert MyShul owns all data entered and allow a temporary fee increase of up to 100%
  • Yahrzeit, honors, school, cemetery, SMS not evidenced
  • Self-published '11 compared' article and unsourced '#1 / 4.9' claim

Full reviews: Benevolate · MyShul · all comparisons