Independent. We sell no synagogue software, take no vendor payment for placement, and run no affiliate links. Prices are checked against vendor pages on the date shown on each page. Editorial policy

Benevolate vs Cardova (2026)

Two synagogue management options compared on verified pricing, Jewish-specific workflows, billing depth, communications, migration and independent evidence.

Data verified 2026-10-12 (Benevolate) and 2026-10-12 (Cardova). Scores from the published rubric.

Quick answer

  • Price: Benevolate: Quote-based: monthly core platform fee + a per-transaction fee on every payment except checks; premium modules priced separately. Cardova: Starter plan ('Popular') $80/mo; Pro plan $160/mo.
  • Jewish-specific workflows: Benevolate leads (10.0 vs 7.0 of 20 points).
  • Membership, dues and money: Benevolate leads (17.0 vs 15.0 of 20 points).
  • School and events: Benevolate leads (10.0 vs 5.0 of 10 points).
  • Data portability and migration: Benevolate leads (10.0 vs 5.5 of 10 points).
  • Pricing transparency: Cardova leads (5 vs 15 of 15 points).
  • Overall: Benevolate 63.0/100 · Cardova 58.5/100

Pricing side by side

Benevolate

  • Synagogue Core (custom quote): · Not stated; quote depends on number of households, modules, implementation needs, migration complexity and website requirements · CRM, membership, donations, payments, forms, events, member portal, reporting, API access, yahrzeits, lifecycle, facilities

Setup: Implementation scoped per organization (data migration, configuration, training, payment setup, go-live support); no amounts published.. Processing: Stripe. /pricing states '2.2% + $0.30' for the nonprofit edition and says synagogue rates are 'in the quote'. The sample ledger on /feature/payments shows ~2.9-3.0% on card and $0.00 on ACH, which is illustrative, not a published rate. Who bears the fee is not stated.. Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).

Cardova

  • Free plan: · up to 100 community members/contacts; 1 administrator · Essential features, basic reporting/analytics, basic chat and email support
  • Starter plan ('Popular'): $80/mo · up to 500 members/contacts; 2 administrators · $80/mo billed monthly or $72/mo billed annually ($864/yr); free data transfer to Cardova, advanced reporting/analytics, priority chat and email support
  • Pro plan: $160/mo · unlimited members/contacts; 5 administrators · $160/mo billed monthly or $144/mo billed annually ($1,728/yr); advanced custom fields, audit log and data history, high-priority chat/email support

Setup: None stated; 'free data transfer' on annual paid plans.. Processing: Pricing table shows 'Platform fees 0% to 5%' on all tiers; processor and card fees not stated.. Source: vendor page, 2026-10-12 (vendor-page).

Feature by feature

CapabilityBenevolateCardova
Membership & household recordsYes 'Households and history'; relationships tied to people.Yes Individual profiles, households/family units, lifecycle from prospect to alumni, community groups, member self-updates.
Yahrzeit tracking & remindersYes Yahrzeits listed in synagogue Core; /synagogues: 'Yahrzeit, cemetery, and lifecycle' module.Partial Directory page: tracks 'lifecycle events with native support for the Hebrew calendar'; yahrzeit lists/notices not described explicitly.
Hebrew calendar integrationNot verified Not mentioned; Hebrew-date conversion for yahrzeits not described.Yes 'Native support for the Hebrew calendar' for lifecycle events.
Dues, billing & receivablesYes 'Dues, invoices, payments, open balances'; staff see 'which households still have a balance'.Yes Memberships with automated renewals, reminders, tiered access and reports; invoicing/AR ledger not described.
Online paymentsYes Stripe card and ACH; recurring payments.Yes Donations, membership and ticket payments online; platform fee 0-5%.
Donations, pledges & campaignsPartial Gifts post to funds, GL and households; annual campaign category shown; pledges not described on pages read.Yes One-time and recurring donations, dedicated funds, giving reports, campaigns; pledges not mentioned.
General ledger / fund accountingPartial Each revenue category maps to a chart-of-accounts line and deposit bank; journal export. Not positioned as a full GL.No No accounting module described.
QuickBooks integrationYes Journal sync posts journal entries, invoices and deposits to mapped QuickBooks banks incl. Undeposited Funds clearance.Not verified Not mentioned.
Religious school managementYes Premium module: enrollment, attendance, billing, family communication; Jacksonville Jewish Center case.Not verified Not mentioned.
Events & registrationYes Tickets, RSVPs, volunteers, QR check-in.Yes Events & ticketing with attendance and reporting.
High Holiday seatingPartial 'Registration, seats, and the household that reserved them stay together'; High Holiday seating per se not named.Not verified Not mentioned.
Honors, aliyot & gabbai toolsNot verified Not mentioned.Not verified Not mentioned.
Cemetery managementYes Cemetery is a Premium module; lifecycle module holds 'dates and rituals'.Not verified Not mentioned.
Website / CMSPartial Website hosting is a Premium module; CMS depth not described on pages read.Yes 'Community website' tooling.
Email & newslettersYes Email campaigns and newsletters using household lists.Yes Communication hub: announcements, event updates, automated occasion messages.
SMS / textingYes Homepage: SMS 'using the same household lists'.Partial Pricing table row 'Text individual community members' (plan-dependent); no bulk SMS described.
Member self-service portalYes 'A portal on the same record'.Partial Members can update their own profile and household information; full portal scope not described.
Mobile appNot verified No native app mentioned.Not verified Not mentioned.
API / data exportYes 'API access' in synagogue Core; detailed journal CSV export.Partial Pricing comparison table includes 'API' and 'Export' rows; details not published.
Automation & workflowsPartial 'AI & automation' page and 'Ask Benevolate' query feature linked; details not read.Yes Automatic receipts, renewal reminders, weekly reports; 'Automated workflows' row in plan table.

Evidence links for every cell are on the individual review pages: Benevolate, Cardova.

Rubric scores

GroupBenevolateCardovaMax
Jewish-specific workflows10.07.020
Membership, dues and money17.015.020
Communications and engagement11.010.015
School and events10.05.010
Data portability and migration10.05.510
Pricing transparency51515
Independent customer evidence0110
Total63.058.5100

Benevolate: strengths / limitations

  • Genuine accounting mapping (category -> COA -> deposit bank) with QuickBooks journal sync
  • API access included in Core; both email and SMS on household lists
  • Security page is candid about SOC 2 status rather than claiming it
  • Visible in the synagogue-executive market (NAASE 2026 Platinum sponsor)
  • No published synagogue prices; everything is a quote
  • Thin synagogue track record by its own account (four synagogues worked with directly)
  • Hebrew calendar, honors/aliyot and a mobile app are not mentioned
  • SOC 2 report not yet issued; no third-party reviews

Cardova: strengths / limitations

  • Free tier and transparent low pricing
  • Modern directory with household and lifecycle modelling, Hebrew-calendar support
  • Automation of renewals, receipts and reports
  • Free data migration on annual plans
  • Very new vendor with no reviews, customer counts or published location
  • No accounting, QuickBooks, school, seating, honors or cemetery features evidenced
  • Platform fee of up to 5% on top of processor fees
  • Boilerplate copy on pricing page suggests an early-stage site

Full reviews: Benevolate · Cardova · all comparisons